humanoidrobots.systems

huggingface/hopejr · spec sheet

The HopeJR specs

Open-source DIY full-size humanoid with dexterous hands and exoskeleton teleoperation, targeting ~$3,000, with LeRobot integration.

Maker
Class
Humanoid
Status
Active
Availability
DIY build
Country
France
Level
L1 Compiled
01

Media

1 item · credited and licensed
02

Specifications

4/12 fields sourced
The HopeJR specifications
Heightspecs.heightCmunsourced
Massspecs.massKgunsourced
Degrees of freedomspecs.dof66
Payloadspecs.payloadKgunsourced
Top speedspecs.speedMpsunsourced
Runtimespecs.runtimeMinunsourced
Battery capacityspecs.batteryWhunsourced
Pricespecs.priceUsd3,000USD~$3,000 target (May 2025); first units planned for end of 2025, delivery not verified
Actuatorsspecs.actuatorsRobstride 02 (humanoid body update)
Computespecs.computeunsourced
Sensorsspecs.sensorsunsourced
Year introducedyear2025
Licenselicense.hw / .sw / .docsunsourced

Note · Repo has no LICENSE detected by GitHub (license API returns none, 2026-09-25); Humanoid/LICENSE is Apache-2.0 text with an 'all rights reserved' header and covers only Humanoid/, so no license is declared here. Arm/hand + exoskeleton (Arm/ dir, LeRobot) is the most developed part. sim=true rests on the right-leg + pelvis URDF only. Commercial shipping status in 2026 unconfirmed. HQ left null (joint project). Repo last pushed May 2026.

03

Openness

method
90 / 100Open hardware
ArtifactPublicWeightPoints
CADopenness.cadyes2525
Bill of materialsopenness.bomyes2020
Sim model (URDF/MJCF)openness.simyes2020
Firmwareopenness.firmwareyes1515
Softwareopenness.softwareyes1010
Trained policiesopenness.policiesno100
score = Σ weight × public90
04

Build package

v0.1.0 · full guide
BOM lines
31
Parts (qty)
156
Priced BOM
—
Fab parts
7
Print time
—
Material
—
Build steps
14
Est. assembly
—
Safety steps
3
Vendors
6

BOM by category · USD from priced lines

CategoryLinesQtyUSD
Fasteners621—
Other616—
Electronics56—
Actuators423—
Structure430—
Power22—
Cabling27—
Sensors251—

Offers in CN · EU · GLOBAL · US from 6 vendors

Subsystems · assembly groups

GroupStepsMinSafety
Fabrication3——
Hand1——
Arm2——
Teleop2——
Bring-up4—2
Electrical1—1
Policy1——

Fabrication: FDM print ×7

Firmware

Targets
Homunculus exoskeleton PCB (ESP32-C3, Arm/code/exo.cs), Homunculus glove PCB (ESP32-C3, Arm/code/glove.cs), Robot arm + hand: stock Feetech servo firmware driven from LeRobot over URT-1 / Waveshare bus adapters
Repo
github.com/huggingface/lerobot
Calibrate
lerobot-calibrate for hope_jr_hand, hope_jr_arm (GUI range finder, writes limits to motors), homunculus_glove and homunculus_arm (record min/max); files in ~/.cache/huggingface/lerobot/calibration.
Notes
Robot side has no custom firmware: LeRobot's hope_jr_arm (FeetechMotorsBus, IDs 1-7) and hope_jr_hand (16x scs0009, IDs 1-16, protocol_version=1) talk to the servos directly. Teleop firmware is two short Arduino sketches in https://github.com/TheRobotStudio/HOPEJr/tree/main/Arm/code (mux scan, 115200 baud; exo.cs also converts 5 sin/cos Hall pairs to 0-3600 angles). Teleoperator drivers: https://github.com/huggingface/lerobot/tree/main/src/lerobot/teleoperators/homunculus. Arm/hand drivers: https://github.com/huggingface/lerobot/blob/main/src/lerobot/robots/hope_jr/hope_jr_arm.py, https://github.com/huggingface/lerobot/blob/main/src/lerobot/robots/hope_jr/hope_jr_hand.py.

Policies

  • hand manipulation via ACT (train-your-own recipe) · LeRobot (ACT) · huggingface.coNo pretrained HopeJR checkpoint is published; the docs give the lerobot-train command (policy.repo_id=<USER>/hand_test_policy placeholder), an example dataset nepyope/hand_record_test_with_video_data, and a W&B run for reference.

Caveats · stated by the package

  • Upstream pins: TheRobotStudio/HOPEJr@0a60df1e326b092436edfb011b833fb9a3bc397b (main, 2026-05-04; last change: Robstride RS02 test STL, 2026-04-30). Arm/README.md dated 26/06/2025 (Hugging Face arm, hand and Homunculus teleop); Humanoid/README.md dated 02/07/2025; ChangeLog last entry v0.1.8 2024-12-02. LeRobot docs/source/hope_jr.mdx and src/lerobot/robots/hope_jr at huggingface/lerobot@e624f3f7f8411ec3a02635d06e79373341e5ef35 (2026-09-24).
  • Scope: this package builds ONE arm + dexterous hand and its Homunculus exoskeleton + glove (the Arm/ directory). The full 66-DOF humanoid is not buildable from upstream: Humanoid/ has a right-leg + pelvis URDF (Onshape export referencing Cybergear and SM85BL actuators and SEA springs), a 2-file first-draft torso (chest, mantle), a legs STEP that is a Git LFS object (HJr_Legs_07k.zip is ~234 MB), and a single Robstride RS02 SEA spring/motor mount test STL (2026-04-30). No BOM, actuator list, electronics or assembly guide exists for legs, pelvis or torso.
  • No assembly guide: Arm/README.md describes design changes only. Every assembly step here is reconstructed from BOM placement notes, STEP files and LeRobot motor maps; torques, times and print settings are not published.
  • Print material, layer height, infill and supports are not stated anywhere for the Arm/ STLs. The arm STLs are large multi-body files (e.g. right_hand.stl ~10.6 MB); the number of spool covers needed is not stated.
  • Servo mix conflicts: Arm/BOM.md lists 1 SM8512BL + 2 STS3250 + 4 STS3215 (12 V); LeRobot hope_jr_arm.py declares SM8512BL + 6 STS3250 (including all wrist joints); Humanoid/README.md and the Second_Arm_Draft BOM (older HOPELite arm) say 4 STS3250 + 3 STS3215 and plan to move to STS3250 for all shoulder/elbow joints. The BOM.md mix is used here.
  • BOM units are loose: bearing headers say 'width x inner x outer' but values read as inner x outer x width (e.g. 20x27x4, 6x10x3); the robot side lists 18 x 20x27x4 bearings while the older arm BOM says 17. Spring wire (0.3 mm) differs from the older hand BOM (0.4 mm).
  • PCB quantities are not stated: which boards (12-connector, 7-connector, Homunculus) and how many per build is inferred (one Homunculus board each for exo and glove). The 12-connector bom.csv has no LCSC part number. JLCPCB PCBA ordering needs an account and has minimum quantities.
  • No USD prices anywhere upstream. Two EUR figures appear only inside AliExpress URL parameters (URT-1 EUR 8.89, fishing line EUR 16.19). The earlier '~$3,000' full-humanoid target is not backed by a BOM.
  • Most vendor links are amzn.eu / amazon.fr / fr.aliexpress short links from a French build; availability outside the EU is unverified and short links can die. Alibaba listings are Feetech product pages with MOQ pricing.
  • Licensing: the GitHub license API reports none for the repo. Humanoid/LICENSE is Apache-2.0 text prefixed with 'Copyright 2024 The Robot Studio. All rights reserved.' and sits only in Humanoid/; the Arm/ directory (the buildable HF arm, hand, exo, PCBs and code) carries no license of its own, so its reuse terms are unclear. LeRobot drivers are Apache-2.0. Project Homunculus (origin of the glove/exo) has no license either.
  • Teleop firmware ships as .cs files that are actually Arduino C++ sketches; no build instructions, board definition or pin diagram accompanies them. exo.cs computes only 5 angles while LeRobot's homunculus_arm expects 7 joints; the exact exo firmware LeRobot expects may live in the Project Homunculus exo submodule instead.
  • Record/replay/train are marked experimental in the LeRobot docs and only demonstrated on the hand; no published HopeJR policy checkpoint. Arm and hand teleop must run in separate processes.
  • Upstream docs are stale in places: Humanoid/README.md and ChangeLog (last v0.1.8, 2024-12) predate the Hugging Face Arm/ release; Arm/README says STLs are in '3dprint files/STL' but the folder is '3dprint files/arm' and '/exoskeleton'. Community support is via WhatsApp/Discord links in the READMEs.

Package huggingface/hopejr@0.1.0 · upstream TheRobotStudio/HOPEJr@0a60df1e326b092436edfb011b833fb9a3bc397b (main, 2026-05-04); huggingface/lerobot@e624f3f7f8411ec3a02635d06e79373341e5ef35 (2026-09-24). Full pins in caveats. · 21 package sources

05

Models, repositories, links

5 links
06

Videos

2 tagged · 0 from the maker's channel
HOPEJr assembled for the first time at Humanoids Summit London 25therobotstudioOfficial embedyoutube.comHugging FaceThe HopeJR
HOPEJr now integrated with LeRobot from HuggingFace!therobotstudioOfficial embedyoutube.comHugging FaceThe HopeJR
07

News and papers

0 stories · 0 papers

News mentioning HopeJR

The news feed is not reachable right now; this page regenerates every 30 minutes.

Papers using HopeJR

The papers feed is not reachable right now; this page regenerates every 30 minutes.

20251

  1. Robot

    Hugging Face announces HopeJR and Reachy Mini

    Hugging Face unveiled two open-source robots: HopeJR, a full-size humanoid with 66 actuated degrees of freedom, and the Reachy Mini desktop robot.

    Hugging FacePollen RoboticsThe HopeJRtechcrunch.com
09

Sources

last checked 2026-09-25
  1. [1]TechCrunchtechcrunch.com/2025/05/29/hugging-face-unveils-two-new-humanoid-robots/checked 2026-09-24
  2. [2]Official repogithub.com/TheRobotStudio/HOPEJrchecked 2026-09-24
  3. [3]HOPEJr Humanoid/URDF/Right_Leg (only URDF)github.com/TheRobotStudio/HOPEJr/tree/main/Humanoid/URDF/Right_Legchecked 2026-09-25
  4. [4]LeRobot HopeJR docs (arm, hand, exoskeleton, glove)huggingface.co/docs/lerobot/hope_jrchecked 2026-09-25
10

Suggest a correction

Corrections need a public source. They go to the Hyperspawn intake queue and are reviewed before the record changes; the page updates on the next data release.

now: —
POST hyperspawn.io/api/v1/reports
11

Related

12

Cite this page

humanoidrobots.systems. “The HopeJR specs.” Hyperspawn, data revision 2026-10-08. https://humanoidrobots.systems/huggingface/hopejr

Machine-readable: /data.json (record huggingface/hopejr).